BookHounds

Books, Gardens, Dogs
Unsaid - Neil Abramson In a way, this book should have had the word atonement in the title since the story revolves around life, death and getting things right or merely getting things on the right path in order to resolve all those ethical questions that occur in everyone. Helena has just died from cancer and returns to her home and life as a veterinarian to check up on her husband, friends and animals. She finds her lawyer-husband David overwrought and not coping very well with the loss. Helena took in strays of all sorts, from horses to cats and anything in between, so David must cope with the misfit animals while trying to go back to his high powered career. The story becomes a legal thriller as well as one of redemption when Jaycee, Helena's best friend and research partner, requests David's help in a legal issue. Helena is just an observer and narrates her life history and the current affairs in her loved ones lives in such a profound and beautiful way. Her love of all animals has been a driving force in her life and David never really understood it until he faces the animals he must now care for. The animals are portrayed so perfectly that they just jump off the page with life. There are many little twists and turns in David's healing process and through each step he finds help in unusual ways. He hires Sally, a vet tech who is out of work, to care for the menagerie and along with Sally comes her autistic son, Clifford who really adds another dimension to the book. The end of the book truly caught me off guard. I really wasn't expecting the book to end this way, but everything is nicely resolved (sorry, no spoilers here). Any animal lover will adore this book since it gets right to the heart of animal rights. Fans of Garth Stein and Temple Grandin will love this sweet and powerful story about the human-animal connection.

Currently reading

Orange Is the New Black
Piper Kerman
The Chaos of Stars
Kiersten White
Conjured
Sarah Beth Durst
Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division
Peter Hook
Gated
Amy Christine Parker
Stick Dog
Tom Watson, Ethan Long
The Housewife Assassin's Guide to Gracious Killing
Josie Brown
Mrs. Poe
Lynn Cullen
Bang
Lisa McMann
Doomed
Chuck Palahniuk