BookHounds

Books, Gardens, Dogs

The Lover's Dictionary

The Lover's Dictionary - David Levithan This book is why David Levithan is an acclaimed author. He can take a small idea and very few words to make an impact that would take most authors a lot of words. This small book based on definitions and span the alphabet is a new take on a romance that falls apart. The tale goes back and forth in time and takes small things that lead up to how a relationship actually builds and then breaks. Although it is mostly a sad look at a romance, there is a lot of humor and heart woven in through the short chapters. Fans of Six Word Memoirs and Post Secret will adore this one.

Currently reading

Orange Is the New Black
Piper Kerman
The Chaos of Stars
Kiersten White
Conjured
Sarah Beth Durst
Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division
Peter Hook
Gated
Amy Christine Parker
Stick Dog
Tom Watson, Ethan Long
The Housewife Assassin's Guide to Gracious Killing
Josie Brown
Mrs. Poe
Lynn Cullen
Bang
Lisa McMann
Doomed
Chuck Palahniuk